AANR-NW Convention Recap

The AANR-NW convention took place last weekend at Kaniksu Ranch.  Kaniksu was celebrating its 75th anniversary, with a “Diamonds in the Buff” theme.  We all had a great time.  There were tournaments in pickleball, bocce, volleyball, shuffleboard, horse shoes, kayaking and cribbage, along with informal sports play all weekend.  Karen Lahey from the SLUGS won the cribbage tournament.  There was a children’s activity center running all weekend, with games and crafts.  We enjoyed a campfire Thursday night and danced to a DJ dance Friday night and The Angela Marie Project Saturday night, and the band even performed nude on Saturday.  And of course the pool, hot tub, sauna and miles of forest trails were available throughout the convention.  The Kaniksu kitchen provided great meals all weekend, and a 75th anniversary reception Saturday.

Forums included:

  • A presentation on how to use social media to help your club, presented by Randy Erickson.
  • A presentation by Bill Schroer, the new AANR Executive Director, of his plans for the organization.
  • A Government Affairs presentation.
  • A recap of the AANR-NW FolkLife sponsorship and booth.
  • Darkness to Light introduction.
  • Group discussion about how we can support our travel clubs.
  • A presentation about how to talk to our friends about nudism.
  • A rap session covering a range of topics.

Elections were held, and all officers were re-elected.  Karen Lahey from the SLUGS,Fraternity Snoqualmie, Hidden Springs, Wine Country Bares was re-elected as president. Jim Lahey from the SLUGS,Fraternity Snoqualmie, Hidden Springs, Wine Country Bares will continue as secretary.  Dave Smith from Kaniksu will be vice-president and Terri Capshaw from Sun Meadow will be treasurer.  Also, Linda Babione from Lake Bronson was elected as Nominations committee chair.

A motion was passed to ask the board to amend the procedures so that club members will not need to pay the convention registration fee when the convention is at their club.
Sun Meadow was selected as the site of the 2016 AANR-NW convention.  As a reminder, Fraternity Snoqualmie will be the site of the 2015 convention.

Awards were:

  • Scholarship to Deana Jackson from the Bare Backers.
  • Membership increase awards went to Hidden Springs, both for percentage increase and number increase.
  • Poet Laureate to John Mollan from the Sun Rovers
  • Presidential Meritorious Service Award for extraordinary service working at Northwest Folklife to 6 people, Effie Burton, Don Krueger and Jim Lahey from the SLUGS, Richard and Linda Stockett from the Willamettans and Brie Capshaw from Sun Meadow.